Martindale Awards

Client Champion Gold is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 6 reviews, with an average score of 4.2 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.6/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (53)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-22 10:29:32

Brent is knowledgeable, passionate and works hard. If presented with new or novel issues he will put in the time to find the right answer and solution.

— Peer 06/22/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-18 14:55:42

No description provided

— Peer 06/18/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-11 14:42:46

No description provided

— Peer 06/11/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-15 11:08:52

Brent is incredibly thoughtful when it comes to legal resolutions and doing his best possible job for his clients. I have hired him several times for various cases because I believe he represents his clients exceptionally well.

— Peer 05/15/2020

4.2 / 5.0
2020-09-11 10:42:38

No description provided

— Peer 09/11/2020

4.2 / 5.0
2020-05-16 08:33:54

No description provided

— Peer 05/16/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09 12:49:59

He cares about his clients and the constitution.

— Peer 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-25

It was an honor to have Brent represent my interests when my wife had criminal charges filed against her when police were called in the midst of an emotional crises my wife was going through. He was on point in communicating with the prosecution about my wishes (as alleged victim), making sure the prosecution knew I wouldn't testify against her, strategizing with and getting information to and from my wife's counsel, and keeping me informed of what was happening and what steps I needed to take for the best outcome. He was adamant about defending my rights, and calling out an error in procedure a judge made when refusing to hear me during one of my wife's hearings. He made enough of an impact with the prosecution that they completely dropped the charges against my wife almost immediately during the pre-trial hearing. The defense wouldn't have been able to accomplish that on their own, nor would most other attorney's "just doing their job". It was Brent's passion for individual's rights

— Client 06/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

Mr. Huff provided excellent service in a time efficient manner. I felt heard and understood when he answered any of my questions regarding my case. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing help!

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

Brent did a wonderful job. I was very happy with him explaining my case to me before, and during, so I felt comfortable with what was happening and what people where saying. I’m not a attorney, I don’t know the ins and outs like Brent does! Thanks Brent!

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-25

Mr. Huff offered me an affordable price knowing that I’m having financial issues. He’s very friendly and patient with me. He also explained to me every detail that I need to know and what I’m supposed to do. Definitely would recommend Mr. Huff if you don’t know how to handle cases yourself.

— Client 05/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-13

I highly recommend Mr. Huff. His ability to sit, listen and make you feel like you weren't alone is exactly what we needed.

— Client 05/13/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-10

I received a DUI last summer along with a bunch of other “smaller” offenses when I was pulled over in Glen Canyon National Recreation Area. Brent is a friend of my wife’s, so when this all happened I seeked him out because honestly he was the only defense lawyer I knew, and I am so thankful that I did. When I called Brent for the fist time he was already so invested in my case and seemed to stop at nothing to get things done. This work ethic is why I decided to hire Brent. He not only worked hard to get me the plea deal I wanted, but he also stayed in constant communication with me to keep me in the loop of what was going on. Brent is extremely knowledgeable and truly passionate about what he does. He has a great ability of explaining things to make sense. He always ran things by me before he acted and seemed to do so in an extremely caring and empathetic way. If you hire Brent, your will not be disappointed, you will be heard, understood, and taken seriously no matter the offense

— Client 05/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-18

Appreciate the response time to my case. He handled everything very professionally. He was very informative and got me the results I needed! Thank you!

— Client 04/18/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-23

Brent was very professional, knowledgeable and honestly great. He helped us in an expungements and was exactly who we needed. Even Knew when a court made a mistake. I would recommend him to anyone.

— Client 03/23/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-19

Brent is the best attorney I could’ve ever asked for! If anyone is ever in a situation to need an attorney than I guarantee it will come with a lot of unwanted stress in your life. Brent helped take care of that stress for me and did an amazing job with my case! His knowledge of the law is off the charts and his compassion for his clients as actual people is unrivaled. Truly the best lawyer for the job!!

— Client 03/19/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-10

Brent was wonderful to work with. Extremely easy to talk to and straight to the point. He spent a lot of time researching the facts of my case to determine the most effective way to approach the government. Brent was attentive to my concerns and explained options to me that would best help resolve my case. I'm thrilled to write a review as my case was a success.

— Client 09/10/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-23

Brent worked hard to research every avenue to benefit my case. He was diligent and knowledgeable. I knew I was in good hands and I’m certain I could not have found a more dedicated lawyer.

— Client 09/23/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-10

I found Brent to be very intelligent, kind, and focused on his clients. He was able to help me get the outcome I needed and I am so thankful for that.

— Client 11/10/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-18

Mr. Huff was cost favorable. I needed an attorney for some defense. Even though I pleaded guilty to get the "plea in abeyance". My case went from a class A to a class C misdemeanor. I received 8 month instead of 12. I paid the fine and received a conditional dismissal. That's a yay ! Thank you

— Client 01/18/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-05

I hired Brent to help me with a DUI case after I was arrested on my way to work (completely sober, I might add). He was able to convince the driver's license division not to suspend my license and the prosecutor to throw out the criminal case. He was professional, helpful, and transparent through the entire process. I would recommend him to anyone in a bind in Salt Lake City.

— Client 02/05/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-09

Brent was beyond knowledgeable regarding our expungement. He did not mask or muddle around using legal language in explaining what can or cannot happen. Our previous Lawyer did not even show up to the hearing he scheduled! Brent took 1 look at the paperwork, made a couple phone calls and immediately saw the problems, and addressed the situation. He was always on time, professional and able to explain what needs to be done quickly and expediently. I would recommend him to anyone.

— Client 04/09/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-09

Brent is one of the best attorneys in all of Salt Lake! Even all of Utah! He has help me out on so many different occasions and completely put my mind at ease when ever I was worried about how things were going. His level of honor and integrity is beyond what you would expect out of anyone. Not only does he have a vast amount of knowledge on the law he is extremely personable and looks at his clients then more than what they even think they are worth. If you are looking for an Attorney that not only will help you out legally but care about you as a person as well go with Brent and you will not be disappointed!!

— Client 04/09/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-10

Brent made it very clear to me in what role I needed to play through the court case I was involved with (me never being involved with a legal case before and very young was concerned how it was all going to work.) And was passionate about his work and reviewed my case well. On our first consolation about my case Brent, explained and went through the paper work from the court and our agreement throughly and efficiently. He was easy to get a hold of, and could answer any questions I had about the the date, time and sequence of events of the court date. For example, when we met early before court had begun, and he explained the plea in abeyance deal, What the judge was going to ask me, and how I was going to go about the questions in which I agreed to. Not only did he Make my legal case process smoothly he was nice and respectful.

— Client 04/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-05-16

I hired mr. huff to potentially help with some charges from several years ago. I was told that nothing could be done because I had multiple charges and tried to get them expunged myself but because there were a few I was denied although it has been almost 20 years I felt as though nothing could be done and when I consulted with mr huff he suggested maybe a reduction in sentence allowing me to be felon free. I am so thankful that he suggested it and was able to do it for me ! I will forever be thankful!!!

— Client 05/16/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-07-17

It’s very obvious talking to Brent that he is extremely passionate about his work. I was super grateful to have him with me at court. He genuinely cared about the outcome of my case, it showed in his knowledge of the law, his professionalism with me and the court, and the way he communicated the laws and the process of my case to me. I had an HOV violation, Brent was able to keep it off my record without traffic school. Thank you!!!

— Client 07/17/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-07-31

He did a great job helping us through this process and knew exactly what to do we are pleased with his efforts and won the case we will most certainly ho

— Client 07/31/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-08-15

Brent worked with my attorney Scott C. Williams and wrote a motion to dismiss evidence for my case that was persuasive, influential, and thorough I’ve worked with attorneys closely for the last fifteen years, and it was hands down the best motion I have ever read. He took real life court cases, and was able to swiftly and convincingly tie it to my real life example - it made sense for the evidence to be dismissed. He left no room for counter argument, he covered all angles. I am very impressed with his in-person demeanor, as well as his confident and persuasive character and ability. I hope I don’t need an attorney again, but if I do, I will always use Brent and Scott. It makes sense to hire them!

— Client 08/15/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-09-10

I had a domestic case where both parties where charged I got my case dismissed and the state wanted to charge my s/o since they dismissed my case. I hired brent and he was able to talk to prosecutors and get her case dismissed. Very satisfied with the outcome as both of our cases have been dismissed.

— Client 09/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-09-10

He is a very diligent and respectful! He supported, and protected my rights and my decision to handle a simple domestic and made sure the prosecution could not and would not use my words against me or my significant other. He did a great job and it was money VERY well spent. I hope to never have to need him again but if I do, I would hire him again in a heartbeat!

— Client 09/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-10-20

My wife and I hired Brent for an administrative law case we became unrightfuly entangled up in regarding an issue with DCFS. We needed him for an administrative hearing and we planned to stay with him should our case be continued and moved to court. Throughout the entirety of this case we were required to have several visits per month for 8 months by a caseworker. When we hired Brent, he jumped on our issue without hesitation and began his work immediately after I got off the initial phonecall with him. Within only a few days span he had collected all of the documents he would need for our hearing, made all the phonecalls to everyone he needed to get into contact with to obtain information, and was still able to keep us in the loop the entire time leading right up to the day of our hearing. One of the phonecalls Brent made was to our caseworker with DCFS. Whatever conversation took place between her and Brent during that phonecall was so impressive to her that the DCFS representative assigned to be present at the hearing (someone other than our caseworker, possibly DCFS's attorney) didn't even bother showing up or make any indication they intended to be there. Because of this, Brent moved to overturn our entire case based on their absence (which was the originally declared default in our written notice of the hearing sent to us in the mail) which the Administrative Law Judge present granted. My wife and I were extremely impressed by Brent and his hard work and dedication to our issue. He never once kept us out of the loop as he went about his work. He helped us understand what he was doing and why he was doing it. He informed us of what would happen at the hearing, how it worked, and all the different possible outcomes. He succeeded at calming us down and reassuring us that everything was going to be alright. Brent's help was also very affordable for a young, broke, middle class couple like us. He was more than willing to work with us on pricing and even potential payment options if we needed. He never made us sign anything requiring us to stay with him should our hearing be moved to court, but we were so impressed by his work that we planned to rehire him as many times as we needed throughout any further steps or processes regarding our case. To say we were happy with Brent's help would be a massive understatement. He was a godsend to us in our desperate time of need. We will definitely be hiring him again in the event we ever need to in the future (which hopefully we won't encounter).

— Client 10/20/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-12-20

Brent handled my my claim fast and efficiently. He was very thorough in dealing with my case and was upfront of all the possible verdicts that could have happened. I would highly recommend him because he is motivated and will tell you how it is with your case.

— Client 12/20/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-07

Brent is very helpful and knows what he is doing. I had a criminal case and he was able to get me a good, fair deal. He is quick to respond. I would definitely recommend him!! Fair prices as well!

— Client 01/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-22

I don't like writing reviews, (in fact this is my 1st), but, the effort and knowledge of Mr. Huff have compelled me to do so in this case. I was charged with my 2nd DUI/DWI, possession of a controlled substance and driving an unregistered vehicle. Of which I was guilty of all. In the first meeting with prosecution, they offered absolutely no willingness to negotiate a resolution. They simply said that I could plead guilty to all. Of course, this was unacceptable to him. (And me, not that I knew a different result was even possible @ that point) He pushed it to a later date. This went on 2 more times. On the 3rd time with no offer from prosecution. Brent said he knew that they changed prosecutors fairly often and if we push it out a little further perhaps the next 1 would be more reasonable. Well, I thank god for that piece of knowledge!! The next prosecutor was reasonable and Brent negotiated posession and registration charges dropped in exchange for a guilty on the DUI (they had me pegged on all 3 remember) He created a lot more work for himself in order to get the best result possible for me!! I didn't have to, nor did he ask for any more $. That's integrity you just don't see much anymore!! If I run into ANY legal problems in the future, HE WII BE THE FIRST PERSON I CALL!! If you the best result possible for your case I would wholeheartedly recommend this be the attorney you hire!! He truly cares about you and yours and will workout reasonable payments for you as well. THANKS AGAIN BRENT!!!

— Client 01/22/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-02-04

Brent is an excellent attorney who I absolutely confidently can recommend to anyone who needs professional legal help. My case was not criminal but rather administrative but very important for me. Some time ago, I accidentally found out that my Utah court and arrest records are a total mess. I live in different state for many years now, and I needed a reliable attorney in Utah who can take care of this for me. I hired Brent and did not regret this decision for a second. He is highly knowledgeable in different areas of Law and always kept me informed about what could and couldn't be done with my case; or could but probably shouldn't be done. It's not like with many other lawyers when you just sit and patiently wait for the outcome. With Brent, you are always involved in every step of the way. What's important is that he always answers your calls and texts almost immediately. If he has any updates, he will call you right away. After all, Brent put all my criminal records in Utah in order, and simultaneously reduced most of them to the lesser offense. Brilliant job! You won't make a mistake hiring this talented and competent attorney.

— Client 02/04/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-02-11

I had a friend that recommended him, and I told him my situation. He was fast to respond because I had put off seeking help for a bit. He was very reassuring and helpful to make me feel like I wasn't alone and had the knowledge to tell it to me straight. I knew I was in trouble but it felt like he had my back always. I never expected to get away with something I'm guilty of but he helped lighten my burden. So thank you. Knowing myself I may need help from him in the future for expungement service.

— Client 02/11/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

Working with Brent was great. He answered my messages within minutes. Any question I had he went above and beyond with the answer. I would highly recommend him and would use him if ever needed in the future.

— Client 03/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-10

Brent was exceptional in court today. He did not just represent me, he represented the best interest of my daughters to keep an individual away.

— Client 03/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-20

Brent is the best Lawyer. My husband was looking at doing a lot of time for a domestic violence case. Brent saved him big time . He was totally on his side did more than expected . And in the court room he is awesome. I could not ask for a better Lawyer. I would never hire anyone else

— Client 03/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-31

Honest, capable, Brent Huff is a great attorney! I hired him after completing court ordered probation successfully but erroneously told i was in violation . His “best guess” was exactly what happened in the case, as well as what the prosecution was probably going to do. He was reassuring, competent and gave me a good deal on my case . If you need the services of an attorney I highly recommend hiring an attorney. The money you spend will be far worth it in the long run and I highly recommend Brent Huff as your legal representative !! It helps I had the truth on my side but sad that there are degrees of the law and penalties that can have an innocent man pay debts of his life by unlawful incarceration, having Brent huff on my side made me feel reassured and confident , thanks Brent ! 5stars !

— Client 03/31/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-18

Very knowledgeable and helpful in my case! He got everything done that I needed and in a very timely manner! Appreciate the attention to detail. Thank you!

— Client 04/18/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-10

I received a DUI last summer along with a bunch of other “smaller” offenses when I was pulled over in Glen Canyon National Recreation Area. Brent is a friend of my wife’s, so when this all happened I seeked him out because honestly he was the only defense lawyer I knew, and I am so thankful that I did. When I called Brent for the fist time he was already so invested in my case and seemed to stop at nothing to get things done. This work ethic is why I decided to hire Brent. He not only worked hard to get me the plea deal I wanted, but he also stayed in constant communication with me to keep me in the loop of what was going on. He always ran things by me before he acted and seemed to do so in an extremely caring and empathetic way. If you hire Brent, your will not be disappointed, you will be heard, understood, and taken seriously no matter the offense.

— Client 05/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

Not only was he affordable, he was also informative and helped me with a favorable outcome. Very pleased with Brents work.

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

Mr. Huff represented me on a case where I could have lost my right to drive. He was thorough and concise with his actions on following through with phone calls as well as meeting with me personally before my hearing. Highly recommend him to anyone needing help with a case!

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-25

It was an honor to have Brent represent my interests when my wife had criminal charges filed against her when police were called in the midst of an emotional crises my wife was going through. He was on point in communicating with the prosecution about my wishes (as alleged victim), making sure the prosecution knew I wouldn't testify against her, strategizing with and getting information to and from my wife's counsel, and keeping me informed of what was happening and what steps I needed to take for the best outcome. He was adamant about defending my rights, and calling out an error in procedure a judge made when refusing to hear me during one of my wife's hearings. He made enough of an impact with the prosecution that they completely dropped the charges against my wife almost immediately during the pre-trial hearing. The defense wouldn't have been able to accomplish that on their own, nor would most other attorney's "just doing their job". It was Brent's passion for individual's rights and ability to invoke to the prosecutor's humanity that got the job done quicker (and therefore cheaper!) than I would have thought possible. Thank you, Brent, for giving me back my family, and for helping to ease our turmoil when facing horrendous criminal charges brought on by dishonest statements by overzealous and outright abusive "officers" of the law. I hope I never need your services again, but if my family ever runs into legal problems in the future you'll be my first call.

— Client 06/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-14

My case was not easy and he handled it well and professionally. And he ended up winning my case in the end!

— Client 07/14/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-08-12

With Brent, I knew I'd found the man I needed from our first conversation. When you receive legal notices, I think its natural to be shocked, panicked, and instantly want to "fix things and try to explain yourself". What I've learned from Brent is, when it comes to family matters and people who once cared deeply for one another, that is probably what actually started the problem. You assuring yourself that your intentions are based in concern are far less important than the perception of the other person. That is something Brent had a way of helping me understand that I desperately needed in order to stop an unintended runaway cycle of hurt, hurt back, and on and on. That was just one of the many things Brent just seemed to instinctively know how to get through to me in such a clear, honest, but compassionate way. Brent stopped two people, my ex and I, who once would have done anything to protect each other, from continuing to fear one another more and more. Not only did he communicate to ME what i had to accept, in no uncertain terms, while remaining empathetic, he took great care and effort to stop two people from continuing to escalate a legal fight. He was excellent at breaking down what I needed to do to gain peace of mind and hopefully do the same for my ex. STOP thinking YOU are going to fix this! It finally helped me realize i needed to step back. Legal matters that involve people you care about can and probably will spiral worse and worse if you think you don't need legal help. But Brent has a gift. Trust me. If you want to stop fearing retaliation, you need to let a professional handle it. Brent is one of those professionals who is so clearly passionate about seeking the best possible resolution that you can't even put a price on it. Even so, you never feel like money is why he does it. So in my opinion, if you find yourself in a similar place, if you find yourself shocked and numb at being drawn into the fear of a legal battle with someone, a family member, or anyone you care about, the sooner you turn it over to an attorney, the better. Second, i personally hope you call Brent. You'll probably be surprised at how quickly he responds, and how dedicated and efficient he is at handling business.

— Client 08/12/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-08-25

Attorney Huff is knowledgeable, patient and responsive. He consistently returned my calls in 24 hours. Due to Attorney Huff's diligent work on my case the entire matter was dropped. No charge, no fine, nothing. I will recommend Attorney Huff to my peers and anyone seeking a sharp & empathetic criminal attorney.

— Client 08/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-09-05

As someone who has had no prior history of legal issues I was completely overwhelmed by the terminology, the processes and the procedures of the justice system. Brent was recommended by a friend and I understood why after my first phone call with him. He as able to succinctly explain how the process worked, the anticipated timelines, what the worst and best case scenarios were and what we might hope to achieve. I think for many of us it is quite embarrassing to discuss these matters with anyone, let alone someone you don't know well. But Brent was caring and understanding, providing knowledge and advice without even a hint of judgement or condescension. I had full confidence in him and was able to more or less forget about this otherwise stressful ordeal knowing that I had someone I trusted taking care of things in the background. Unsurprisingly he was able to follow through with a favorable outcome, again taking care to explain all the aspects. I am extremely grateful for the care and professionalism he should and would enthusiastically recommend him to anyone I know who might need his services.

— Client 09/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-07

Brent Huff dealt with a case of mine for over a year. We at first didn’t see the resolution we wanted, but with patience, had work, facts, and a professionally-persuasive demeanor Brent resolves my case with the desired resolution and flying-colors! He is easy to work with, understanding, empathetic, and factually-realistic- which makes to open-up honestly and work towards your desired resolution! Worth every penny! Highly-recommended!

— Client 10/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-19

Great guy, easy to talk to and he's very thorough. Very good communication, keeps you posted with any updates. Highly recommend Brent for any traffic ticket issues. Thank you Brent

— Client 10/19/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-28

I am very thankful that I had Brett in my corner today... he was very professional and gave my good advice and answered all of my question in a timely matter... let me know what was expected before we went to court and after court contact me to make sure I understand what happened in court ... thank you for your help

— Client 10/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-11-06

We hired Brent to represent my husband ,who was in prison on parole violation, at the parole board violation hearing. He was knowledgeable about our situation. He was honest about things he knew a little about. He said he would research it and boy did he research it. He provided detail easy to understand explanations and his plan for representing him. He is one of the only lawyers I have known or heard about that actually answers his own phone and if you leave voicemail he returned my call within mins. We were up against a very biased parole officer who lied on many of his statements to the board. This was elegantly brought out to the parole board members attention in a well written letter Brent sent to the board members prior to the hearing date. He was smart and aggressive enough for my husband to have 3 of 5 allegations against him alledge by the parole officer dismissed completely. He was honest in his communication with me even when it wasn't what I was wanting to hear. Since this case he been just as helpful and honest with options going forward to deal with the now, vendictive and just plain unjust parole officer up here in Logan. I have recommended him to a few people already and will continue to do so. He is my ROCKSTAR GO TO ATTORNEY FOR ANY LEGAL SITUATION.

— Client 11/06/2020